It's another great day in the Mitten State! There are so many great places to visit and fun things to see and do all over our great state that hopefully you will get to enjoy at least one or two of those items this summer. Hopefully, these books will give you some great ideas!

Books Set in North America

Many people are excited to think about future trips this year.  You can also travel the world while sitting in your favorite comfy chair by choosing books from this list.  Enjoy your adventure!

Many people are excited to think about future trips this year.  You can also travel the world while sitting in your favorite comfy chair by choosing books from this list.  Visit any one of these continents to experience a new setting and enjoy your adventure!

Read Around the World - Africa
Read Around the World - Asia
Read Around the World - Europe and the United Kingdom
Read Around the World - North America 
Read Around the World - Oceania
Read Around the World - South America 

 

For Kids:

Read Around the World--Kids Nonfiction

Read Around the World--Kids Fiction

 

Head back to 62 Days of Summer for more ways to participate in the summer program!

Following someone's journey through life can be inspiring, powerful and heartbreaking all at the same time.  Walk a mile in someone else's shoes by reading these memoirs.  

When breath becomes air by Paul Kalanithi
Also available in: e-book | audiobook | e-audiobook | large print

At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi's transformation from a naive medical student "possessed," as he wrote, "by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life" into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality. 

The glass castle : a memoir by Jeannette Walls
Also available in: e-book | audiobook | e-audiobook

In the tradition of Mary Karr's The Liars' Club and Rick Bragg's All Over But the Shouting, Walls has written a stunning and life-affirming memoir about surviving a willfully impoverished, eccentric, and severely misguided family.

Books Set in South America

Many people are excited to think about future trips this year.  You can also travel the world while sitting in your favorite comfy chair by choosing books from this list.  Enjoy your adventure!

Books Set in Oceania

Many people are excited to think about future trips this year.  You can also travel the world while sitting in your favorite comfy chair by choosing books from this list.  Enjoy your adventure!

 

 

Books Set in Europe and the United Kingdom

Many people are excited to think about future trips this year.  You can also travel the world while sitting in your favorite comfy chair by choosing books from this list.  Enjoy your adventure!

Books Set in Africa

Many people are excited to think about future trips this year.  You can also travel the world while sitting in your favorite comfy chair by choosing books from this list.  Enjoy your adventure!

Books Set in Asia

Many people are excited to think about future trips this year.  You can also travel the world while sitting in your favorite comfy chair by choosing books from this list.  Enjoy your adventure!

 

 

 

How do you really get to know someone? 

  • Asking people questions about their life is one way to find out about them.   StoryCorps has an app  that you can download to record conversations and even upload them to their story archive.
  • If you are interested in family history, MyHeritage has 117 questions that you can ask your family member.  
  • The library has hundreds of biographies to read for both adults and children!  Find out more about someone through the written (or spoken) word!

 

Pages