third grade

Looking for a new series to read? Check out these newer series for readers who love to read with a continuing cast of characters! See read-alike suggestions next to each book to pick a great new series today.

The haunted house next door by Andres Miedoso

This series is about a ghost hunting investigator and is recommended for lovers of Eerie Elementary and The Haunted Library. 

Upbeat STEAM-based fiction with a lovable cast of characters perfect for fans of Pete the Cat and Mercy Watson. 

 

Interested in reading a story that takes place in a different time period? Try checking out one of these historic tales. Books are suggested for Third Grade, but remember that each Reader is different, and might find something interesting at another level.

All-of-a-kind family by Sydney Taylor

Follow the adventures of five sisters growing up in a Jewish family in New York in the early twentieth century.

Bo-Bo's cave of gold by Pamela Berkman

In 1852 California, stray mutt Bo-Bo and his friend, ten-year-old gold prospector Sheng, must risk great danger seeking a rumored treasure after Bo-bo's kindness leads Sheng into debt.

 

Put on your detective cap and get sleuthing with one of these mystery stories.  Books are suggested for Third Grade, but remember that each reader is different and might find something interesting at another level.

Edward "Egg" Garrison and his friends are on a field trip to watch the local minor league baseball team, but a theft at the concession stand is delaying the game, so the four sixth-grade detectives decide to investigate.

Though scoffed at by Harold the dog, Chester the cat tries to warn his human family that their foundling baby bunny must be a vampire.

 

Looking for a good read in a comic book format? Try checking out one of these daring graphic novels. Books are suggested for Third Grade, but remember that each reader is different, and might find something interesting at another level.

Apocalypse bow wow by James Proimos

Apollo and Brownie are unaware that the apocalypse is at hand, but when their owners do not return and they run out of food and water, the dogs venture into the world, where they team up with a police dog, a flea that quotes Sun Tzu's The Art of War, and others in an attempt to survive.

Ariol. 2, Thunder horse by Emmanuel Guibert

Ariol knows he's just like his hero in every way: brave, er . . . handsome, and . . . um . . .tall? Well, maybe Ariol has a ways to go, but that's not going to stop him from doing everything he can to grow up and become just like the guardian of the stars! 

 

Looking for action, adventure, or survival? Try checking out one of these daring tales. Books are suggested for Third Grade, but remember that each reader is different and might find something interesting at another level.

Balto of the Blue Dawn by Mary Pope Osborne

Jack and Annie travel back in time to 1925 Nome, Alaska, where they meet Balto, the famous sled dog, and help save the town from illness.

Breakout by Tracey West

Ninja of Earth, Cole, and Zane the titanium ninja help the other captured Elemental Masters break out of Chen's palace, where they've been stripped of their powers and have been forced to work in a noodle factory.

Ready to hide under the covers to avoid the bumps and spooks outside your window? Here's a collection of spine-tingling stories. Books are suggested for Third Grade, but remember that each reader is different and might find something interesting at another level.

Lunch walks among us by James K. Benton

Franny K. Stein is a mad scientist who prefers all things spooky and creepy, but when she has trouble making friends at her new school she experiments with fitting in...which works until a monster erupts from the trashcan.

A poor tailor is ordered by the Grand Duke to make a pair of trousers, but he has to make them in a graveyard where a spooky monster lives.

 

Looking for something to read that will tickle your funny bone?  Try one of these humorous books.  Some titles will give you a chuckle, while others will make you burst out with laughter.  Books are suggested for Third Grade, but remember that each reader is different and might find something interesting at another level.

Anyone but me by Nancy E Krulik

Third-grader Katie Carew gains insight into the mind of the class bully when she is magically transformed into a hamster--an animal the bully fears.

Over the summer, Andrea and A.J. are sent to Camp Ockatollyquay, a camp to get kids ready for school! But not to worry—Andrea and A.J. rally the Ella Mentry School gang to end their summer on a note they'll never forget.

 

Looking for superheroes like Wonder Woman and Spider-Man? Try checking out one of these super-powered stories. Books are suggested for Third Grade, but remember that each reader is different, and might find something interesting at another level.

Attack of the cheetah by Jane B. Mason

When a cheetah exhibit opens at the National Zoo in Washington, D.C., Princess Diana (alias Wonder Woman) arrives to witness the event. When the rare cats suddenly escape, it's up to Diana to capture the cats and figure out why they are behaving strangely.

Battle of the Blue Lanterns by Michael Vincent Acampora

After helping Green Lantern Hal Jordan against the Manhunters, members of the Blue Lantern Corps want him to give up his green ring and join the Blue Lanterns...or suffer the consequences.

 

Explore this selection of books either about Michigan or written by authors with ties to Michigan. Books are suggested for Third Grade, but remember that each reader is different and might find something interesting at another level.

Catastrophe in Caseville by Johnathan Rand

When Shelby McConnell and her family travel to Caseville, Michigan, for the annual cheeseburger festival, she knows she's going to have to have a great time. After all, thousands of people travel to Caseville for this special annual event every year.  But this year, the first day of the festival is marred by the appearance of a mysterious, giant cheeseburger that sets out to destroy the festival and the entire town!

An eleven-year-old New York farm girl travels with her parents to the Michigan Territory in 1836 by way of the Erie Canal, encountering unknown dangers and incredible hardships.

 

Check out these great sports-themed titles. Books are suggested for Third Grade, but remember that each Reader is different, and might find something interesting at another level.

Arctic freeze by Kristin Earhart

takes smarts, strength, and skill to win!
The air might be freezing, but the race is heating up! Dev can't stop thinking about how much he'd disappointed his dad by signing up for The Wild Life. But to win a race through the frozen Arctic tundra, where animals are ferocious and nature is extreme, the red team needs everyone to give it their all...even Dev!

The gold medal mess by 1964- David A. (David Andrew) Kelly

Five friends are ready for their school's Olympics field day. But not everyone wants to play fair someone is trying to ruin the events! Can the kids in the Most Valuable Player club solve the mystery, save the Olympics, and take home the gold?

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - third grade