May We Suggest?

May We Suggest?This blog provides customized book recommendations to our patrons. To get your own, just fill out the May We Suggest form and you can expect results within 10 days. You can also like May We Suggest on facebook.

Maybe you want to read Sisters. Or maybe you love her work on The Baby-Sitters Club. Maybe you have no idea who Raina Telgemeier is, but you want a bright and fun graphic novel, and the ones your friends talk about are always checked out. Here is a list of Telgemeier's books (including alternative formats to check out), the popular titles that are just like Telgemeier, and some other suggestions for when those aren't available. Good luck, and happy reading.

Guts by Raina Telgemeier

In a semi-autobiographical graphic novel, the author describes her childhood anxiety, in a story about growing up and gathering the courage to face and conquer her fears.

Smile by Raina Telgemeier
Also available in: e-book

From sixth grade through tenth, Raina copes with a variety of dental problems that affect her appearance and how she feels about herself.

 

Did you miss our Grumpy Storytime this week? Don't worry, here's what you missed, plus a few more suggestions so you can create your own crabby storytime at home, complete with songs and stories.

Don't need a full storytime? Borrow a rhyme when you need a short distraction, or check out these materials and spend a few minutes reading together.

From Storytime

The Snurtch by Sean Ferrell

Ruthie has a problem at school. It is the Snurtch. The Snurtch is a scribbly, grabby, rude monster who follows Ruthie around and gets her into all sorts of trouble. It seems Ruthie will never be rid of the Snurtch. But eventually, she realizes she's not the only one... George has one too.

On November 11 every year, is the federal holiday honoring and celebrating all veterans who have served in the United States military. Did you know Veteran's Day was known by another name? At the end of World War I, a truce was declared at the 11th hour of the 11th day of the 11th month of 1918 between the Allies and Germany. On June 1, 1954 Congress passed a bill renaming Armistice with Veterans and President Dwight D. Eisenhower, who served as a 5-star general in World War II, signed the bill into law. Some government service buildings and schools will be closed. But our library will be open so come on in and check out some of our materials honoring our veterans!

Every Man a Hero is the unforgettable story not only of what happened in the incredible and desperate hours on Omaha Beach, but of the bravery and courage that preceded them, throughout the Second World War--from the sands of Africa, through the treacherous mountain passes of Sicily, and beyond to the greatest military victory the world has ever known. 

Marine Sgt. John Peck survived an IED during the War on Terror that left him with a traumatic brain injury, amnesia, and cost him his marriage. He survived another three years later, one that left him with three and a half limbs missing. He's one of only two living people to survive the flesh-eating fungus he contracted in recovery at Walter Reed, one that left him as a quadruple amputee. And that's only the beginning of his story.

November is the time to recognize family caregivers who devote countless, unpaid hours to providing essential personal care to relatives and loved ones who cannot care for themselves. If you're a family caregiver, you are not alone. More than 65 million Americans are taking care of aging or disabled family members. The value of all that combined unpaid caregiving work adds up to an estimated $375 billion! Family caregivers balance the demand of jobs, careers, and raising children to provide care, comfort and compassion to their aging or disabled loved one. The cost of caregiving not only impacts a family's budget, but the stress can take its toll too. Thank you to all those family caregivers! Your community appreciates you. Need to learn more? Check out these resources on caregiving. 

Alzheimers books should help everyone involved through this incredibly difficult time. That's why Alzheimer's Through the Stages shows you what you can do for your loved one--and yourself--every step of the way. This book's detailed descriptions of all seven stages of the disease are both helpful and comforting. With each section divided into three parts--what to expect, what to say, and what to do--this is one of the easiest to use Alzheimers books for caregivers.

From cherished memories of weekends she spent as a child with her indulgent Nana to the reality of the year she spent "ladysitting" her now frail grandmother, Lorene Cary journeys through stories of their time together and five generations of their African American family. Brilliantly weaving a narrative of her complicated yet transformative relationship with Nana--a fierce, stubborn, and independent woman, who managed a business until she was 100--Cary looks at Nana's impulse to control people and fate, from the early death of her mother and oppression in the Jim Crow South to living on her own in her New Jersey home.

Cary knew there might be some reckonings to come. Nana was a force: Her obstinacy could come out in unanticipated ways--secretly getting a driver's license to show up her husband, carrying on a longtime feud with Cary's father. But Nana could also be devoted: to Nana's father, to black causes, and--Cary had thought--to her grandchildren and great-grandchildren. Facing the inevitable end raises tensions, with Cary drawing on her spirituality and Nana consoling herself with late-night sweets and the loyalty of caregivers. When Nana doubts Cary's dedication, Cary must go deeper into understanding this complicated woman. In Ladysitting, Cary captures the ruptures, love, and, perhaps, forgiveness that can occur in a family as she bears witness to her grandmother's 101 vibrant years of life.

 

Did you miss our Yeti Storytime this week? Don't worry, here's what you missed, plus a few more suggestions so you can create your own chilly storytime at home, complete with songs and stories.

Don't need a full storytime? Borrow a rhyme when you need a short distraction, or check out these materials and spend a few minutes reading together.

From Storytime

Henry and the yeti by Russell Ayto

Young Henry persuades his school principal and his father to let him go on an expedition to find a yeti, provided he brings back proof and does not stay up too late.

In 1990, President George H.W. Bush declared the month of November as "National American Indian Heritage Month", which has come to be commonly referred to as Native American Heritage Month. By either name it is a time of "recognition for the significant contributions the first Americans made to the establishment and growth of the U.S." The Library's collection is a great place to look for materials about Native Americans and their place in our country's history.

Do you love cats? If so, then today's your day! It's National Cat Day on October 29! National Cat Day brings awareness to the countless number of cats in shelters who need a forever home. So if you're thinking of adding a fur baby to your family, check out these books from our pet collection! And consider adopting your four-legged friend from a local rescue like the Michigan Orphan Kitten Rescue!

For fans of Grumpy Cat and Cats on Instagram there's a new cat in town--Bailey, No Ordinary Cat--of the Facebook name, is a special cat with a growing fan base, garnering over 2 million views on Ellen's Instagram and videos that have been shared by Good Morning America, ABC News, CBS News, and more. What makes Bailey more addictive than catnip? In addition to his adorable expressions and his hilarious, heartfelt antics, Bailey has a penchant for doing things that are characteristically uncatlike--things like taking bubble baths (and enjoying them), sitting attentively in a chair and being read to (for hours), getting a pet -icure, and his unending patience while co-raising his human siblings Abby and Hannah (yes, there is photographic evidence that Bailey helped with potty-training). If you have a cat you know how independent they are. Bailey, No Ordinary Cat celebrates the unique quirky spirit of this unforgettable feline through four-color photographs and captions from the voice of Bailey himself. Cat lovers will be delighted to peek into the life of their favorite celebrity cat with the huge eyes, huge heart, and huge personality--and an ever-growing following.

We learn so much from our feline friends, and along the way they keep us company, provide unconditional love, and share in the ups and downs of our lives. What do we learn from our cats? Everything. Our cats make us better people. If we rescued them, they rescue us back. If we're sad, they comfort us. If we need to have more fun, they show us how. They are our therapists, our role models, and our best friends. You'll laugh a lot, tear up at times, and nod your head in recognition as you read these tales about the wonderful experience of sharing life with a cat. Life lessons from our cats come in many forms, from the hilarious to the heroic. You'll enjoy a wide variety in these 101 entertaining stories.

If you enjoyed reading about Blaire Wilson, the American Girl of the Year 2019, you might enjoy these other books about local farming and food, and community service.

Fiction

Gabriela Rivera is a sixth-grader with a serious peanut allergy, lots of artistic talent, one friend at her school, and a total lack of self-confidence--but when she meets Daisy, the owner and baker at Daisy's Desserts, who makes allergy free treats, she finally starts to gain some confidence in her own considerable abilities.

Even though Halloween can be a scary time, storytime is a great place to explore Spooky but not Scary stories. There are so many great options out there. Be sure to check them out and watch out for ghosts!

Stories and Songs from Storytime

Pages