May We Suggest?

May We Suggest?This blog provides customized book recommendations to our patrons. To get your own, just fill out the May We Suggest form and you can expect results within 10 days. You can also like May We Suggest on facebook.

 

The following titles focus on sports and active play for your beginning reader.

Best friends by Margery Cuyler

When his best friend Sue finds a new friend at school, Pete feels dejected until Sue invites everyone to play together.

Baseball buzz by C. C. Joven

Jackson loves baseball, but a bee in the outfield causes him to miss a fly ball, and the game is stopped until the bee finally departs.

Part of the Starting Line Readers series.

 

 

Trying to satisfy a princess-obsessed reader? Look no further. The following titles are full of royalty and mythical creatures, and some ordinary characters with extraordinary flair. 

J READERS

In this classic fairy tale, retold with a twist, Hansel and Gretel are eat a lot of junk food and aren't very active. Their father, the woodcutter, plans a trip for them to the woods for exercise. But the children get lost and discover a hungry--but health-conscious--witch!

Part of the Tadpoles Fairy Tale Twists series.

Looking for some fiction and non-fiction picture books about fall, harvest, and farms? Here are a few picture books that you can read with your K-2nd grade child. 

Fall Stories

Hush up and hibernate! by Sandra Markle
Kermit Versus Thorndyke Smackdown

 

Hey Kids,

Ever wondered whether a mosquito could take on a great white shark? Me neither. But now that you're thinking about it, how do a mosquito and a great white match up? If you're curious about this and other animal matchups, check out some of the books below. 

Bear Hugs,

Thorndyke

This title has lots of different matchups, if you just can't make a choice.

Love Kids Graphic Novels but feel like you are ready for a longer story? Here are some awesome Kids and Teen Graphic Novels to reignite your love of the format. Enjoy!

All together now by artist Hope Larson

When you combine a love of animals with an appreciation for good humor, what do you get? A lot of great things to read! For readers who love Elephant and Piggie and Pig the Pug, here is a selection of fiction and nonfiction to keep you laughing.

Llama destroys the world by Jonathan Stutzman
Also available in: video

Eating too much pie causes Llama to rip his dancing pants, opening a black hole and threatening the entire universe. Check out more books by Jonathan Stutzman.

I'm Trying to Love Spiders will help you see these amazing arachnids in a whole new light, from their awesomely excessive eight eyes to the seventy-five pounds of bugs a spider can eat in a single year! Bethany Barton also tackles bees in a humorous and welcoming way.

If you are looking for suggestions for a not-yet-reader who has just begun their reading journey, browse this list for some ideas to get them started. Don't forget to keep reading together to continue building their vocabulary and reading positivity. Take a look at our Early Literacy databases for additional resources.

I can run by Murray Head

The I Like to Read series is a great place to start. Featuring simple storylines and simple sentences, a variety of authors and illustrators and topics give readers an abundance of choice. The newer editions have Guided Reading levels clearly printed on the cover.

Today I will fly! by Mo Willems

Gerald and Piggie team up to deliver a fun, thoughtful introduction to reading. Entirely made up of dialogue, highly relevant plotlines, and a lot of repetition, the Elephant and Piggie series is delightful to read aloud, and is a fantastic way to keep reading from becoming a chore.

If you've read everything by the hilarious David Sedaris, try one of these novels, memoirs, or essay collections for more humor!

If you enjoy the American Girl Smart Girl's Guide series, you might enjoy these other books about growing up, health and wellness, fun things to do, and inspirational people.

In a world where people spend more time engaging through screens than in real-life interaction, showing basic human kindness can feel like a lost art. Be Kind is a compilation of actionable things kids can do in their daily lives to make the world a kinder place.

Step into your power by Jamia Wilson

A guide for girls instructs them in how to harness their own power to succeed and grow, discussing the importance of community, making good choices, action, and self-care.

Looking for a suspenseful read with twist and turns? These thrillers and mysteries will have you turning pages late into the night!

Too close to breathe by Olivia Kiernan

Pages