Books

 

Looking for a book that will keep you turning pages? This list features unique fiction titles, many with strong female protagonists, for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Taylor Jenkins Reid, Jonathan Safran Foer, and Tara Westover.

Also available in: e-book | audiobook | e-audiobook | large print

For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Her interactions with other people, however, leave her open to suspicion.

The vanishing half by Brit Bennett
Also available in: e-book | large print

Weaving together multiple generations, from the Deep South to California, from the 1950s to the 1990s, Brit Bennett produces a story that is both a riveting, emotional family story and a brilliant exploration of the history of passing. The Vanishing Half considers the lasting influence of the past as it shapes a person's decisions, desires, and expectations, and explores the multiple reasons and realms in which people feel pulled to live as something other than their origins.

Some mostly modern fiction to enjoy during these questionable times. 

Have you read all of the stories about a certain curious little monkey? Looking for some more fun reads? Check out this list of books that are like Curious George and even has some that are maybe a little different.

Secret pizza party by 1983- Adam Rubin

The phrase "Black Boy Joy" emerged a few years ago as a way to challenge the way we view black masculinity in society. Rather than simply seeing black males as angry or tough, Black Boy Joy allows us to see them through a wide variety of lenses. These picture books cover many topics, but all feature phenomenal black boys!

For picture books with black girls, check out our Black Girl Magic booklist. 

Jabari jumps by illustrator Gaia Cornwall
Also available in: e-video

The Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards are the "Oscars" of the comics world. Check below to access eBook or borrow print copies of many award nominees. Visit the San Diego Comic-Con site for the complete list of nominees

Best Continuing Series

Thorndyke the Bear in a Mask to Prevent spreading virus

 

Hey Kids,

As you can see, I've been equipped with a pretty cool facemask, which helps to protect my coworkers now that they have started to return to work. It has been really nice to see them again; the last three months have been very lonely. The fish are not much for conversation.

Being isolated for so long was hard, but I've gotten used to it. And now that we are starting to offer limited services, things are going to change again. And I'm excited for when that means I can see you all again, but change can be really difficult even if it's also good.

Fortunately, I'm no stranger to changing circumstances. I've been through several lengthy construction projects that were at least as long as this closure. I've seen some of my favorite librarians come and go. Even if it looks like I am handling these changes like a champ, there are a lot of feelings and emotions I've had to work through each time.

Whether a change is scary or exciting, it's a good time to talk through your feelings and expectations. Ask questions about what might happen, and prepare for when things don't go exactly the way you want. For example, I thought when my coworkers returned that I would get a lot more snacks, but that didn't pan out. 

So stay safe until I can see you again. I can't wait to check out your mask fashion. And in the meantime, I've included some photos of me that show how much things have changed around library, and a few books about changes you could check out.

Bear hugs,

Thorndyke

Thorndyke the Bear dressed as a clown in the library over 20 years ago

Kelley Moote recommends Attached by Amir Levine. Kelley shares that this book, "...really helped me understand my attachment style and that of others. It's written in a way that's easy to understand and keeps the reader engaged." Kelley also says, "I think everyone of all ages should read it to understand the 'why' behind our thoughts and actions in all relationships."

In this groundbreaking book, psychiatrist and neuroscientist Amir Levine and psychologist Rachel S. F. Heller reveal how an understanding of attachment theory-the most advanced relationship science in existence today-can help us find and sustain love. Attachment theory forms the basis for many bestselling books on the parent/child relationship, but there has yet to be an accessible guide to what this fascinating science has to tell us about adult romantic relationships-until now.

Attachment theory owes its inception to British psychologist and psychoanalyst John Bowlby, who in the 1950s examined the tremendous impact that our early relationships with our parents or caregivers has on the people we become. Also central to attachment theory is the discovery that our need to be in a close relationship with one or more individuals is embedded in our genes.

In Attached, Levine and Heller trace how these evolutionary influences continue to shape who we are in our relationships today.

Joshua Jargowsky recommends The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett. Joshua shares, "I chose title because it really speaks to me. It's a heartwarming story of regeneration through nature. Mary Lennox goes from being spoiled, to being open and kind to those around her, and loving to get dirty in the gardens. Collin goes from being bedridden and hidden in a room, to being to walk and being healthy, simply by having some experiences, even if he needs to sneak out at first. It's truly enjoyable to watch these characters grow and change throughout the book, and that's one of the reasons why I've read this book many times, and found new insight each time."

The secret garden by 1849-1924 Frances Hodgson Burnett
Also available in: e-book | e-audiobook | video

A beautiful and timeless portrayal of friendship and the human spirit, The Secret Garden tells the story of the courage of two unhappy children who become determined to make their lives, and the lives of others around them, more joyful. Orphaned Mary Lennox is sent to live in her uncle's house on the Yorkshire moors, and the house is an unhappy one. Miserable and lonely, Mary starts to explore the house's gardens and she discovers a key to the secret garden.

Zainab Hakim recommends Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor. Zainab shares, "This book is extraordinary in all aspects! The plot is so unique, main and side characters have amazing arcs, the worldbuilding is, well, out of this world, but above all, it is one of the most exquisitely written books I have ever read. The sentences are lyrical and poetic and will immediately transport you directly into the story."

Strange the dreamer by Laini Taylor
Also available in: e-book | audiobook

The dream chooses the dreamer, not the other way around--and Lazlo Strange, war orphan and junior librarian, has always feared that his dream chose poorly. Since he was just five years old, he's been obsessed with the mythic lost city of Weep, but it would take someone bolder than he to cross half the world in search of it. Then a stunning opportunity presents itself, in the form of a hero called the Godslayer and a band of legendary warriors, and he has to seize his chance or lose his dream forever.

What happened in Weep two hundred years ago to cut it off from the rest of the world? And who is the blue-skinned goddess who appears in Lazlo's dreams?

In this sweeping and breathtaking novel by National Book Award finalist Laini Taylor, author of the New York Times bestselling Daughter of Smoke & Bone trilogy, the shadow of the past is as real as the ghosts who haunt the citadel of murdered gods. Fall into a mythical world of dread and wonder, moths and nightmares, love and carnage.

The answers await in Weep.

Alefia Hakim recommends This Is How It Always Is by Laurie Frankel. Alefia shares, "I would love for others to read this book because it's an excellent example of family ties, decisions made as parents, and the love and support from siblings. The author has an amazing depiction of marriage between the main characters. It reminded me of my own relationship and how a supportive and encouraging partner can make a great relationship."

This is how it always is by Laurie Frankel
Also available in: e-book | e-audiobook | large print

This is Claude. He's five years old, the youngest of five brothers, and loves peanut butter sandwiches. He also loves wearing a dress, and dreams of being a princess.

When he grows up, Claude says, he wants to be a girl.

Rosie and Penn want Claude to be whoever Claude wants to be. They're just not sure they're ready to share that with the world. Soon the entire family is keeping Claude's secret. Until one day it explodes.

Laurie Frankel's This Is How It Always Is is a novel about revelations, transformations, fairy tales, and family. And it's about the ways this is how it always is: Change is always hard and miraculous and hard again, parenting is always a leap into the unknown with crossed fingers and full hearts, children grow but not always according to plan. And families with secrets don't get to keep them forever. 

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Books