The following titles focus on sports and active play for your beginning reader.

Best friends by Margery Cuyler

When his best friend Sue finds a new friend at school, Pete feels dejected until Sue invites everyone to play together.

Baseball buzz by C. C. Joven

Jackson loves baseball, but a bee in the outfield causes him to miss a fly ball, and the game is stopped until the bee finally departs.

Part of the Starting Line Readers series.

 

 

Trying to satisfy a princess-obsessed reader? Look no further. The following titles are full of royalty and mythical creatures, and some ordinary characters with extraordinary flair. 

J READERS

In this classic fairy tale, retold with a twist, Hansel and Gretel are eat a lot of junk food and aren't very active. Their father, the woodcutter, plans a trip for them to the woods for exercise. But the children get lost and discover a hungry--but health-conscious--witch!

Part of the Tadpoles Fairy Tale Twists series.

When you combine a love of animals with an appreciation for good humor, what do you get? A lot of great things to read! For readers who love Elephant and Piggie and Pig the Pug, here is a selection of fiction and nonfiction to keep you laughing.

Llama destroys the world by Jonathan Stutzman
Also available in: video

Eating too much pie causes Llama to rip his dancing pants, opening a black hole and threatening the entire universe. Check out more books by Jonathan Stutzman.

I'm Trying to Love Spiders will help you see these amazing arachnids in a whole new light, from their awesomely excessive eight eyes to the seventy-five pounds of bugs a spider can eat in a single year! Bethany Barton also tackles bees in a humorous and welcoming way.

If you are looking for suggestions for a not-yet-reader who has just begun their reading journey, browse this list for some ideas to get them started. Don't forget to keep reading together to continue building their vocabulary and reading positivity. Take a look at our Early Literacy databases for additional resources.

I can run by Murray Head

The I Like to Read series is a great place to start. Featuring simple storylines and simple sentences, a variety of authors and illustrators and topics give readers an abundance of choice. The newer editions have Guided Reading levels clearly printed on the cover.

Today I will fly! by Mo Willems

Gerald and Piggie team up to deliver a fun, thoughtful introduction to reading. Entirely made up of dialogue, highly relevant plotlines, and a lot of repetition, the Elephant and Piggie series is delightful to read aloud, and is a fantastic way to keep reading from becoming a chore.

If you enjoy the American Girl Smart Girl's Guide series, you might enjoy these other books about growing up, health and wellness, fun things to do, and inspirational people.

In a world where people spend more time engaging through screens than in real-life interaction, showing basic human kindness can feel like a lost art. Be Kind is a compilation of actionable things kids can do in their daily lives to make the world a kinder place.

Step into your power by Jamia Wilson

A guide for girls instructs them in how to harness their own power to succeed and grow, discussing the importance of community, making good choices, action, and self-care.

Get inspired by the lives of real people whose curiosity and drive led them to become scientists, inventors, makers, and creators.

Dear Benjamin Banneker by Andrea Davis Pinkney
Also available in: e-book

Throughout his life Banneker was troubled that all blacks were not free. And so, in 1791, he wrote to Secretary of State Thomas Jefferson, who had signed the Declaration of Independence. Banneker attacked the institution of slavery and dared to call Jefferson a hypocrite for owning slaves. Jefferson responded. This is the story of Benjamin Banneker--his science, his politics, his morals, and his extraordinary correspondence with Thomas Jefferson. For more on Benjamin Banneker, look up JBIO BANNEKER.

Also available in: e-book | e-audiobook

Patricia Bath made significant contributions to ophthalmology and laser surgery. For more on Patricia Bath, look up JBIO BATH.

 

Looking for a book that will keep you turning pages? This list features unique fiction titles, many with strong female protagonists, for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Taylor Jenkins Reid, Jonathan Safran Foer, and Tara Westover.

Also available in: e-book | audiobook | e-audiobook | large print

For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Her interactions with other people, however, leave her open to suspicion.

The vanishing half by Brit Bennett
Also available in: e-book | large print

Weaving together multiple generations, from the Deep South to California, from the 1950s to the 1990s, Brit Bennett produces a story that is both a riveting, emotional family story and a brilliant exploration of the history of passing. The Vanishing Half considers the lasting influence of the past as it shapes a person's decisions, desires, and expectations, and explores the multiple reasons and realms in which people feel pulled to live as something other than their origins.

Single Person Having a Dance Break in their Home

 

Complete this square by hosting a home dance party or by choosing a dance activity of your choosing.

To host a home dance party you will need:

  • A Person or Persons interested in dancing (required)
  • Music (recommended)
  • Special Outfits (optional)
  • Disco Ball, Instruments, Scarves or other Accessories (optional)

 

Music Resources from the Library

  • Find dance music on Hoopla** or browse its Dance Your Way to Health video category.
  • Explore our Alexander Street American Music database,** which features an entire dance category. For other music and movement tastes, Alexander Street also has Jazz, and Classical Music options.
  • Check Out our Summer Jams playlists for more music ideas.

**Hoopla and Alexander Street databases are accessible with a Canton Public Library card.

 

ePrint and eAudio Highlights

How do you dance? by Thyra Heder
Also available in: e-book

People of all different shapes, sizes, and ages demonstrate how they like to dance, but one boy does not want to dance and wants to be left alone. A lovely tribute to dancers of all ages and styles.

Thorndyke the Large Brown Bear Typing at the Computer

 

Complete this 62 Days activity by learning something you didn’t know before about the Canton Public Library, or by asking us your questions about how the library works. 

 

Exercise Your Curiosity about the Library

  • Write a letter to Thorndyke. Our resident bear loves seeing your faces and hearing about you. Thorndyke will respond to a selection of questions  and comments he receives weekly on his blog. Simply address your letter to
          Thorndyke the Bear  
          1200 S. Canton Center Road
          Canton, MI  48188
  • Use the “Ask a Librarian” option on our Contact Us form to ask a reference question remotely.
  • Use Social Media to ask us a question, tell us how we are doing, or learn more. Find and follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

 

Meet the Staff

  • Learn more about Thorndyke, our library bear. You can find his life story on Flickr, or you can take a look at his family album.
  • Learn more about the folks who make the library tick. Explore a limited staff directory and meet a few of the people who keep CPL up and running.

 

Explore Hidden Gems of the Library

  • Have you noticed the art located in and around the library? For a full tour, take our art walk online. 
  • Get a quick look at our sorting room, our hub for all returning materials. This is where all the books that are returned via our outdoor Book Drop.

 

Learn about Library Beginnings

Take a Deeper Dive into Libraries

Explore these resources to learn even more about libraries beyond the Canton Public Library. We are just a small part of a larger tradition of community service.

Schomburg : the man who built a library by Carole Boston Weatherford
Also available in: e-audiobook | video | e-video

Amid the scholars, poets, authors, and artists of the Harlem Renaissance stood an Afro-Puerto Rican named Arturo Schomburg. This law clerk's life's passion was to collect books, letters, music, and art from Africa and the African diaspora and bring to light the achievements of people of African descent through the ages.

CPL Librarians Preparing to Sing Skinnamarink to Home Viewers

 

Complete one READ square by attending a virtual program or using our resources to DIY a library program at home. For our full program listings, please take a look at our Program Calendar. For programs that perfectly fit the READ square, and further suggestions, please read on.

 

Storytimes

  • Looking for stories, songs, rhymes, and fun? Try our Far and Away Storytime on Wednesdays.
  • Want to create your own storytime? Explore our Share a Story blogs that are full of story, song, and rhyme suggestions that you can use at home.

 

At-Home Literacy Ideas

Explore our Lit Lab handouts for early literacy activity suggestions that you can use at home. Visit our Kids page and scroll down to our list of Lit Lab handouts by theme.

 

Virtual Book Clubs

Click on the program titles below for descriptions and registration information.

Create your own virtual book club using Hoopla Book Club Hub, or stay tuned for new programs at OverDrive's Together We Read. Get suggestions for how to host online

 

Virtual Writing Group

Attend our Adult Writers Group and make writing a regular part of your literary life.

 

 

Return to the main READ blog post.

Head back to the 62 Days of Summer home page for more ways to participate in the summer program.

Pages