This Is NOT A Book Club*- TINA Take-Out

Graphic novel cover Awkward, a boy and a girl sitting calmly with kids yelling behind them.

New from the creators of This is NOT a Book Club (TINA): TINA Take-Out! Check out our menu for this month's tasty book and side treat. Patrons aged 10-13 are invited to register for this month's special and choose your own side! 

Pick-up your free book and craft kit by October 15 and then join us on October 22 where we will hangout and talk about the book, create your side craft, and compete for prizes in our live trivia event! 

Note: please schedule your pickup appointment AFTER you receive an email noting your kit is ready. Kits take time to make and place on the hold shelf. 

Main Course

This month's TINA Take-Out menu features the tangy read, Awkward by Svetlana Chmakova. This graphic novel is great for fans of Real Friends, Sunny Side Up, Smile, and more! 

Side Dish

The choices for your side this month are below. Please indicate which side you would like by entering the letter in the Note Field when you register.

A- DIY Constellation Cube kit

B- DIY Rocket Cup

 

Can't decide or want to be surprised? Leave the note field blank and we will pick for you! 

Upcoming sessions

Thursday, October 22 - 6:00 PM to 7:00 PM Online Awkward by Svetlana Chmakova
View of Hogwarts school; a large castle on a mountain top

This school year is right around the corner and even though we are not sure what it will look like just yet, we can always count on returning to the majestic halls in Harry Potter's own Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Join us for a number of programs including Howell Nature Center's presentation of Fantastical Beasts, check out super fun activities and find out the best place to check out or listen to the Harry Potter books for free. 

Class List

One of the best ways to learn about the world around you is by reading books. We learn about ourselves and others by reading books that we can relate to, as well as those that teach us something about our neighbors. If there is something specific you'd like to read on, feel free to try a subject search in our catalog, or ask a librarian for help with search terms and suggestions. For a general smattering of books that feature characters who follow certain religious faiths, below are some titles that include Judaism, Islam, Hinduism, and Christianity which might be of interest. Did we miss one of your favorite books? Feel free to comment below. 

Judaism

These books are suggested as readalikes for the popular series Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling. Magic, friendship, mischief, and action are all themes you will find in these titles. 

The truth: Nicholas Flamel's tomb is empty. The legend: Nicholas Flamel lives. Nicholas Flamel is the greatest Alchemyst to ever live. The records show that he died in 1418, but what if he's actually been making the elixir of life for centuries? The secrets to eternal life are hidden within the book he protects--the Book of Abraham the Mage. It's the most powerful book that has ever existed, and in the wrong hands, it will destroy the world. And that's exactly what Dr. John Dee plans to do when he steals it. There is one hope. If the prophecy is true, Sophie and Josh Newman have the power to save everyone. Now they just have to learn to use it. 

The Unwanteds by Lisa McMann

Every year in Quill, thirteen-year-olds are sorted into categories: the strong, intelligent Wanteds go to university, and the artistic Unwanteds are sent to their deaths. Thirteen-year-old Alex tries his hardest to be stoic when his fate is announced as Unwanted, even while leaving behind his twin, Aaron, a Wanted. Upon arrival at the destination where he expected to be eliminated, however, Alex discovers a stunning secret--behind the mirage of the "death farm" there is instead a place called Artime. In Artime, each child is taught to cultivate their creative abilities and learn how to use them magically, weaving spells through paintbrushes and musical instruments. Everything Alex has ever known changes before his eyes, and it's a wondrous transformation. But it's a rare, unique occurence for twins to be separated between Wanted and Unwanted, and as Alex and Aaron's bond stretches across their separation, a threat arises for the survival of Artime that will pit brother against brother in an ultimate, magical battle.

Are you a fan of Patterson, Baldacci, Koontz, or other popular writers and looking for something new to try? Perhaps you just want to check out a title in the genres mentioned above. Either way, we've got you covered with these newer titles which are stand-alone, or part of a newer series for your reading pleasure. 

Before the fall by Noah Hawley

On a foggy summer night, eleven people--ten privileged, one down-on-his-luck painter--depart Martha's Vineyard on a private jet headed for New York. Sixteen minutes later, the unthinkable happens: the plane plunges into the ocean. The only survivors are the painter Scott Burroughs and a four-year-old boy, who is now the last remaining member of an immensely wealthy and powerful media mogul's family.

Was it by chance that so many influential people perished? Or was something more sinister at work? A storm of media attention brings Scott fame that quickly morphs into notoriety and accusations, and he scrambles to salvage truth from the wreckage. Amid trauma and chaos, the fragile relationship between Scott and the young boy grows and glows at the heart of this stunning novel, raising questions of fate, morality, and the inextricable ties that bind us together.

The anomaly by Michael Rutger

If Indiana Jones lived in the X-Files era, he might bear at least a passing resemblance to Nolan Moore -- a rogue archaeologist hosting a web series derisively dismissed by the "real" experts, but beloved of conspiracy theorists. Nolan sets out to retrace the steps of an explorer from 1909 who claimed to have discovered a mysterious cavern high up in the ancient rock of the Grand Canyon. And, for once, he may have actually found what he seeks. Then the trip takes a nasty turn, and the cave begins turning against them in mysterious ways. Nolan's story becomes one of survival against seemingly impossible odds. The only way out is to answer a series of intriguing questions: What is this strange cave? How has it remained hidden for so long? And what secret does it conceal that made its last visitors attempt to seal it forever

ADA 30th Anniversary Logo Red white and blue; 7-26-1990 to 7-26-2020

On July 26, 1990, the Americans with Disabilities Act was signed into law. This month marks the 30th anniversary of the ADA and  Below are some books that feature characters with disabilities. Did we miss your favorite book? Add it below in the comments. 

Youth Materials

On Friday, July 17, 2020, America lost two very influential and important Civil Rights icons. Rep John Lewis and Rev C.T. Vivian. We have curated some materials below which relate to their contributions toward and about the Civil Rights Movement. 

March. Book 1 by 1940 February 21- John Lewis
Also available in: e-book

Realistic fiction is just like it sounds, fiction that could actually happen or seems plausible. Wonder by R. J. Palacio is a prime example of this genre. Realistic fiction can take place in the current time, or from times past. This type of realistic fiction is referred to as historical. An example of a popular historical fiction novel is The War that Saved my Life by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley. These days books written for Middle-Grade readers are better than ever now, with many authors touching on topics that are timely and could have been borrowed from headlines past and present. Below are some new novels in this genre, as well as some backlist bumps toward the bottom.  

Planet Earth is blue by Nicole Panteleakos

Autistic and nearly nonverbal, twelve-year-old Nova is happy in her new foster home and school, but eagerly anticipates the 1986 Challenger launch, for which her sister, Bridget, promised to return

Nowhere boy by Katherine Marsh

 

Fourteen-year-old Ahmed, a Syrian refugee living on his own in Brussels, Belgium, meets Max, a thirteen-year-old American boy, and the two form an important friendship

Young Adult dystopian books remain popular. Dystopian novels are set in an alternate setting that can have similarities to the world we know. Many of the books and seem to focus on female protagonists and give attention to intersections involving race, gender, power and empowerment, sexuality, class, and social justice issues. Though these novels are set in a fictional future, some of them seem eerily familiar and not too far fetched. We are going to start with newer titles below, and then there are some backlist bumps near the bottom. Enjoy! 

Newer Dystopian:

Leyla McQueen, who lives beneath the ruins of a submerged London in 2099, joins a prestigious submersible race in the hope of clearing her father's name before encountering government corruption and a hidden world. 

Looking for a new series to read? Check out these newer series for readers who love to read with a continuing cast of characters! See read-alike suggestions next to each book to pick a great new series today.

The haunted house next door by Andres Miedoso

This series is about a ghost hunting investigator and is recommended for lovers of Eerie Elementary and The Haunted Library. 

Upbeat STEAM-based fiction with a lovable cast of characters perfect for fans of Pete the Cat and Mercy Watson. 

Pages