Check out these new titles recently added to the Library's Biography shelves.

Adult STEAM: Space Art

collage of six different images of planets, moons, and comets

Why should kids have all the fun? This NASA @ MyLibrary STEAM program is designed for adults! In this live virtual program, participants will use the elements of art (line, shape, color, value, and texture) to explore topography in space. First, we will examine images from space (planets, meteors, moons, and asteroids) and discuss how the elements of art may be used to understand the images. Then, participants will create their own space-inspired art with library-supplied materials!

 

This live virtual program will take place via the Zoom video conferencing platform on Thursday, August 6th at 6:30pm. One week prior to the program, registered participants will receive an email with instructions for picking up program supplies and attending the live program.

Registration for patrons 18+ begins July 9 and space is limited (no pun intended). 

Upcoming sessions

Thursday, August 6 - 6:30 PM to 8:00 PM Register

Voters can get ready for the upcoming primary election to be held in Michigan on August 4, 2020 by going to VOTE411. By typing in their address, voters can find out who and what's on the ballot for all local, state, and federal elections, including information on the candidates. Voters can also check their registration status, and their polling place and hours. For more information on voting in Canton - including information on absentee voting - click here.

Pokemon Trainer Kit

Pikachu attached to balloons, flying in the sky.

Attention Pokemon Trainers of ALL AGES! We have created a very special Pokemon Trainer Kit in honor of Pokemon Go Fest just for you. Each kit contains a variety of Pokemon swag to use while training your Pokemon at home or while playing Pokemon Go. Trainers interested in picking up a kit will need to:

  1. Register to reserve a kit between July 17th and July 30th. 
  2. Emails with instructions on how to schedule a pick up will be sent between August 3rd and August 7th. 
  3. Schedule a day and time to pick up your kit. You will have 2 weeks to pick up your kit.
  4. Pick up your kit during your scheduled appointment. 
  5. Have fun catching 'em all! Don't forget to claim your purple pompom. Also share how you used your kit on social media using the tag #howdoyou62.   

Note: families and households with more than 1 Pokemon trainer can request up to 3 copies of kit supplies. When registering, add in the notes field "2" for 2 copies of kit contents or "3" for 3 copies of kit contents.

Upcoming sessions

Friday, July 17 - 9:00 AM to Thursday, July 30 - 9:00 PM Registration Window to Reserve a Kit

Summer's Golden Hour Painting with Dani Cobb

Join local artist Dani Cobb for a relaxing afternoon of painting in the comfort of your own home. Dani will lead participants step by step so even the most novice artist will feel confidant creating a work of art.

This live virtual program will take place via the Zoom video conferencing platform on Saturday, August 8th at 1:00pm. One week prior to the program, registered participants will receive an email with instructions for picking up program supplies and attending the live program.

Registration for patrons 18 and up will begin on July 22. 

To help you make the most of your virtual program experience we have compiled some tips and resources. 

Upcoming sessions

Saturday, August 8 - 1:00 PM to 3:30 PM

 

Looking for a book that will keep you turning pages? This list features unique fiction titles, many with strong female protagonists, for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Taylor Jenkins Reid, Jonathan Safran Foer, and Tara Westover.

Also available in: e-book | audiobook | e-audiobook | large print

For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Her interactions with other people, however, leave her open to suspicion.

The vanishing half by Brit Bennett
Also available in: e-book | large print

Weaving together multiple generations, from the Deep South to California, from the 1950s to the 1990s, Brit Bennett produces a story that is both a riveting, emotional family story and a brilliant exploration of the history of passing. The Vanishing Half considers the lasting influence of the past as it shapes a person's decisions, desires, and expectations, and explores the multiple reasons and realms in which people feel pulled to live as something other than their origins.

Whiteboard Sign with Directions for PC Appointments

As we move through our phased reopening plans, the library is now offering computer use by appointment. Reserve your 90 minute session online or call 734-397-0999 and select option #4. Computers are set up in a socially-distanced manner in the Children's Library, with 7 stations available, as well as a printer and copy card machine. 

  • Reservations are limited to two sessions per person per day. Early sessions on Tuesdays and Thursdays are reserved for members of vulnerable populations.
  • Patrons are required to follow all of the library's public health and safety protocols: Remain 6 feet away from other people, wear a mask, and don't come if you feel ill or have been in contact with someone who is ill. Patrons who refuse to comply with library policies will be asked to leave.
  • You will enter the Library's main entrance and exit from the West Emergency door. Parking in the West side parking lots (near Heritage Park) is recommended. 
  • A printer is available for use, and a (cash-only) copy card is needed to release prints. Library staff cannot handle cash or give change at this time, so please bring a copy card and/or $1 bills to purchase or add value to a copy card using the self-service card machine. 
  • USB drives and earphones are not available at the library; please bring your own. 
  • Patrons are discouraged from bringing others to their appointments. If you must bring a someone, they must stay with you at the computer at all times. Please encourage guests to bring their own form of entertainment, as browsing for materials, iPads, and toys are not available at this time. 
  • In-library browsing, wandering, or other in-person assistance not related to computing/printing are not available at this time. If you wish to check out materials, you may place items on hold via the catalog and pick them up using our scheduled pickup service

We are delighted to offer computer access, and we ask for your patience as we start this phase of service. We will have staff available to assist you during your visit, and we look forward to seeing you once again. 

Thorndyke the Bear in a Mask on the Childrens Reference Desk

 

Hey Kids,

I've been at the library for a long time, which means I have a lot of memories about the library. These memories include the outfits I've worn, the programs I've attended, the librarians I've worked with, and all the improvements that have taken place at the library. Do you have library memories? I would love to get a letter or drawing about your memories in the mail

I've had a lot of time to think about my library memories lately. Recently I wrote a little bit about how difficult change can be, but one of the good parts of change is that it gives you a reason to revisit old memories. Sometimes these are memories of another person, or a place, or of yourself when you were younger. Sometimes they are sad, but they can be funny or happy, too. Sometimes you might feel differently about the memory than you did during the actual experience. Sometimes two people have different memories about the same experience.

It can be very fun to ask your parents, grandparents, or other family members about their memories and stories from their childhood. But memories are not just about the past: you are making new memories RIGHT NOW. You can help your future self remember by writing down what happens to you, or by making a memory book.

Below, I included some memories of the different Reference Desks: do you remember these? There are also some books about memories you can put on hold and check out. Enjoy your stroll down memory lane!

Bear Hugs,

Thorndyke

Thorndyke Sitting at the Reference Desk

Some mostly modern fiction to enjoy during these questionable times. 

Pages