Kids

Thorndyke the Bear in a Mask on the Childrens Reference Desk

 

Hey Kids,

I've been at the library for a long time, which means I have a lot of memories about the library. These memories include the outfits I've worn, the programs I've attended, the librarians I've worked with, and all the improvements that have taken place at the library. Do you have library memories? I would love to get a letter or drawing about your memories in the mail

I've had a lot of time to think about my library memories lately. Recently I wrote a little bit about how difficult change can be, but one of the good parts of change is that it gives you a reason to revisit old memories. Sometimes these are memories of another person, or a place, or of yourself when you were younger. Sometimes they are sad, but they can be funny or happy, too. Sometimes you might feel differently about the memory than you did during the actual experience. Sometimes two people have different memories about the same experience.

It can be very fun to ask your parents, grandparents, or other family members about their memories and stories from their childhood. But memories are not just about the past: you are making new memories RIGHT NOW. You can help your future self remember by writing down what happens to you, or by making a memory book.

Below, I included some memories of the different Reference Desks: do you remember these? There are also some books about memories you can put on hold and check out. Enjoy your stroll down memory lane!

Bear Hugs,

Thorndyke

Thorndyke Sitting at the Reference Desk

Looking for a new series to read? Check out these newer series for readers who love to read with a continuing cast of characters! See read-alike suggestions next to each book to pick a great new series today.

The haunted house next door by Andres Miedoso

This series is about a ghost hunting investigator and is recommended for lovers of Eerie Elementary and The Haunted Library. 

Upbeat STEAM-based fiction with a lovable cast of characters perfect for fans of Pete the Cat and Mercy Watson. 

Each year, the Eisner Awards are given to the best Graphic Novels for kids, teens, and adults. Here are your 2020 nominees in the Kids Graphic Novels:

Best Publication for Early Readers

The phrase "Black Boy Joy" emerged a few years ago as a way to challenge the way we view black masculinity in society. Rather than simply seeing black males as angry or tough, Black Boy Joy allows us to see them through a wide variety of lenses. These picture books cover many topics, but all feature phenomenal black boys!

For picture books with black girls, check out our Black Girl Magic booklist. 

Jabari jumps by illustrator Gaia Cornwall
Also available in: e-video

STEAM Stop Gross Science: Dissecting Owl Pellets

Owl making a surprised face, words Gross Science Owl Pellets

Owl puke is fascinating. Not convinced? All patrons aged 7 years old and up are invited to join us for a Virtual STEAM program where we will investigate owl vomit (commonly called pellets). Each patron can pick up an actual owl pellet and tools that the library will provide to you so can dissect them LIVE with us! Registration begins on July 6 and ends on July 17.

How will we do this live?

First, make sure you have a device that supports Zoom.

Next, register at the link below. 

Then, you will receive an email directing you to schedule a time to pick up your Gross Science kit at the library.

Finally, you will receive an email 24 hours before the program begins with the Zoom link to join us live and dissect our owl pellets together! All program kits must be picked up by July 22 in order to participate. 

Upcoming sessions

Thursday, July 23 - 2:00 PM to 2:45 PM Offsite Gross Science Owl Pellets Register
Thorndyke the Bear in a Mask to Prevent spreading virus

 

Hey Kids,

As you can see, I've been equipped with a pretty cool facemask, which helps to protect my coworkers now that they have started to return to work. It has been really nice to see them again; the last three months have been very lonely. The fish are not much for conversation.

Being isolated for so long was hard, but I've gotten used to it. And now that we are starting to offer limited services, things are going to change again. And I'm excited for when that means I can see you all again, but change can be really difficult even if it's also good.

Fortunately, I'm no stranger to changing circumstances. I've been through several lengthy construction projects that were at least as long as this closure. I've seen some of my favorite librarians come and go. Even if it looks like I am handling these changes like a champ, there are a lot of feelings and emotions I've had to work through each time.

Whether a change is scary or exciting, it's a good time to talk through your feelings and expectations. Ask questions about what might happen, and prepare for when things don't go exactly the way you want. For example, I thought when my coworkers returned that I would get a lot more snacks, but that didn't pan out. 

So stay safe until I can see you again. I can't wait to check out your mask fashion. And in the meantime, I've included some photos of me that show how much things have changed around library, and a few books about changes you could check out.

Bear hugs,

Thorndyke

Thorndyke the Bear dressed as a clown in the library over 20 years ago

Kitchen gardening has been around since the early times. A small plot of land near the house can be used to grow a variety of fruits and vegetables for household use, according to the season. Growing your own food has many health benefits:

You eat more fresh fruits and vegetables,

You chose what pesticides and fertilizers to use
Harvest time is chosen by you.

It is good exercise and fun for the whole family.           

These books and other resources can help you get started on your kitchen garden today!  

For more ways to have the best possible summer head back to the 62 Ways to do 62 Days page!                      

 

Books

Physical fitness can help you sleep, feel, think and manage your weight loss better. It can also energize your mind and body. Just a quick walk around the block can rejuvenate your body and mind. Get moving and inspired with these books, DVDs, e-media and other digital resources.

Head back to the 62 Days of Summer home page for more ways to participate in the summer program!

Hiking has many benefits. Along with the sun warming your face, the sound of the wind in the trees and the beauty of nature, hiking is good for your health. You not only get physical exercise but also emotional and mental relief enjoying the great outdoors. So lace up your hiking boots, gather your family and discover the abundance of trails and parks in Canton and the great state of Michigan.

For more ways to participate in the summer program head back to the 62 Ways to do 62 Days page. 

Trails

Canton Twp.Trails

Lower Rouge River Recreation Trail

ITC Corridor Trail (Novi)

SEMCOG Michigan Trails

Michigan Trails

Michigan Trail Maps

Parks

Canton Parks

Canton Walking Paths

State Parks - Maybury, Isand Lake Recreation Area, Proud Lake Recreation Area, etc.

Metroparks - Dexter-Huron, Delhi, Hudson Mills, Kensington, etc. 

 

The world's oldest known postcard was first sent in 1840. Since then, postcards have been flying around the world. Possessing brief messages and requiring cheaper postage than a standard letter, postcards are ideal for sharing a quick note of something funny, delightful, and heartfelt. 

Creating and sending postcards can also be wonderful opportunities for creativity and expression. The links and ideas below can help you perfect your postcard message, look, and learn more about where to send it.

Activities

Subscribe to RSS - Kids